There aren’t enough words for love in the English language

Despite the instinctive way we always stuck together

I feel myself stretched apart like taffy that neighbors

used to pull when horses carried families to town

The stickiness of all this strain freezing me to this place

 I cannot deny the strangely thick sentiments which bind us

 Nor can I pretend that they are only from the place where I begin

 because grandchild or child of your friend or niece

 You’ve seen me as an almost-daughter at least

Amidst this pinkish gray blob of feeling

The words I dreaded to hear fell from your tongue

 to your lips to thin air to my ears to God’s heart

Who’s lifting my downcast head as I depart

Leave a Reply

