Let Not My Heart be Troubled

Let Not My Heart be Troubled

                                   … trouble will ride me, burn me,

expose me

I’ll rage until I’m spent, then I’ll run from you

 with your layers of fake

False layers of a mask you put on each day,

your makeup

Mascara of dark, wide eyes that do not see,

ears that do not hear

Dusky shadow like your promises that float away

with a puff of wind

Lip gloss that causes each of your lying “yes'”

to sparkle in the muted light

Blush, hiding your lack of shame, its permanent

pretense burned into your skin

And foundation, the great equalizer, washes over

ever nook and crevice

Leave a Reply

