Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

~If anything sucks the life out of me, it’s budgeting

Oh, don’t get me wrong, I love paying people I owe

It feels like I am ripping off the clutches of demons dogging my steps

But these days it’s a tight budget with little margin for error

and little room for surprises

Imagine telling friends that grabbing  a cup of joe from D&D

is so far out of the range of my budget that it could put me in the red

I am not ashamed or embarrassed, although I feel guilty

 asking my husband to do without and do with odd meal selections,

mostly I just feel sad, like my friends shouldn’t have to pay

literally or figuratively for my financial strain,

and to be honest, I hate saying no to a friend who wants to chill

I went so many years of my life doing just that via various antisocial excuses

that now, I want to be a good steward of my relationships,

allowing for growth and intimacy, and as my husband stressed hospitality

but I cannot keep pushing the boundaries of our Quicken register

any more than I can avoid disappointing someone

I would rather it be me than my dear ladies, who love me through and through

but all this plotting and planning is going to give me an aneurysm

and revealing so much information will have me sleeping on the couch

But this area of my life is a real Desolation~

~Wow

It was a big surprise at an opportune time

That brown and pink cardboard with orange letters

So pretty my eyes drank it up

Then I opened it and saw the dollar amount

It would last forever, or at least for a day

a day like today when I had nothing but water at home

and my friend and her baby were coming over

It was nothing, if not MIRACULOUS

the first day of NYC’s unanticipated heat bath

I find myself sipping something green, frozen and tropical

next to my favorite mother and child

in lovely AC, throats soothed, thirst satiated

and not feeling a bit guilty that I didn’t share with husband

although the gift giver had suggested just that

Which leads me to the point of this little spiel

Thank you Pantry Boss!…helping you is quite a

Consolation~

